Next: Optics Up: The Ultraviolet/Optical Telescope Previous: Overview of UVOT   Contents

UVOT Description

The UVOT consists of five units (Figure 8): a Telescope Module containing a UV/optical telescope, a Beam Steering Mirror, two filter wheel mechanisms1, two photon counting detectors, power supplies, and electronics; two Digital Electronics Modules, each one containing a Data Processing Unit, an Instrument Control Unit (ICU), and power supplies for the Data Processing Unit and ICU; and two Interconnecting Harness Units to connect the telescope module to the two Digital Electronics Modules.

Figure 10: UVOT Schematic.
\end{center} \end{figure}


Eleonora Troja 2013-09-03